Documentary / Project development / Production / Co-production / Audience development, marketing, distribution & exhibition / Digital & multimedia

ESoDoc – European Social Documentary

ESoDoc - European Social Documentary is the training initiative for media professionals who are eager to develop their co-creative skills and the potential of their documentary and new media project. 

Dates:  31 May-June 18, 2021; online
            25-31 August, 2021; Tromsø, Norway
            18-24 October, 2021; Vilnius, Lithuania
             6-11 December 2021; Tbilisi, Georgia


ESoDoc seeks to strengthen the ability for innovative and audience-centered documentary and new media storytelling, so participants can be a creative and active part in the evolving market dynamics and respond to the trends in ground-breaking, collaborative and interdisciplinary ways. 

ESoDoc helps participants developing their storytelling skills to turn their topic into an original and compelling story to engage their audience and bring change to our societies.

ESoDoc participants are creative professionals, committed to social, political, environmental and human rights issues, open and willing to get involved and to experiment on their project with new documentary formats, new business and co-creative production models.

The training consists of:
  • 6 months of intense project-development process, through online and residential sessions
  • dedicated and passionate trainers, active professionals  from the real working world
  • three intense one-week residential sessions held in three different locations across Europe
  • Extended Online Sessions taking place in several moments of the workshop
  • one-to-one tutoring and working groups by international experts.
Target groupProducers, Directors, Content developers, Cinematographers, Animation professionals, Journalists, NGO communicators, Web designers, Game designers, Programmers




Facebook: facebook.com/esodoc 
Intermediate | Senior
1500 Reduced fee (EUR 750) for applicants from: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Republic of Serbia, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tunisia, Ukraine
Applicant must submit their latest tax return to be eligible for scholarship.